Birthday Portrait

My two sons just turned one year older! A couple more years and I might have to exercise undue force just to get them in front of my camera. Time flies when you are not watching. Both have the same birthday at exactly one year apart.

I have already planned to do a portrait of my two boys once they celebrate their birthday. I have already set up my small softbox a few days ahead so that any time both of them will be ready, it would be easy to get shooting. I had to anticipate that they would easily lose interest and get bored resulting in a bored looking portrait. It took more than two weeks after their birthday that we finally had time to shoot the portrait. The busyness of life gets in the way of photography. I may also be a bit busy pretending to be busy.

So one weekend I decide to just do it. I told them early morning to take a shower and get dressed up so that we can finally shoot the birthday portrait. The boys cooperated and promptly did what they were told and obliged to be photographed. I had to work fast enough so that we do not lose the moment. Either I get tired and lose patience or they get bored and do things that will irritate the photographer. Deep into the photo session, one boy actually complained that he was already getting tired of holding a smile. His smile muscles were already giving up. Eventually, we finished at about lunch time, with me almost losing my patience and them doing a few things that irritated the photographer. It was a nice and rewarding, albeit exhausting, experience. These types of activities are what bind father and sons together. Hopefully, we’ll do it again next year.

My older son, Remo

My younger son, Theo

Remo is learning to play the piano

Theo is learning to play the violin

Leave a Reply

